top of page

S1E4 'Bipolar and Me' by Sarah O'Rourke 'Who Needs Sleep?'

Hi everyone! I hope you are having a lovely day, you are listening / reading Sarah O’Rourke, ‘Bipolar and Me’ we are on our 4th episode ‘Who Needs Sleep?’.

Before I start, I would like to say a bit of a disclaimer I guess because we are talking about some content listeners may find disturbing. there may be reference to you know some over 18 activity and mental health is a sensitive topic and we do approach the more difficult areas like suicide. I am not a doctor or therapist the views expressed relate only to me.

My podcast / blog will always be available each week and a YouTube video will be uploaded on the same day. You can find all my socials at the bottom of the home page so if you do like what you’re listening to please follow like, share and be more daring perhaps subscribe.

I am really excited about this you know you’re all coming on this journey with me, and I am just so grateful you’re listening/reading right now because without listers/readers I really couldn’t do it.

I want to know why when you have bipolar it causes so much sleep disruption what’s the science? Insomnia is a waking nightmare while depressed and feels like a gift when you’re high.

It was during a manic sleepless episode I came up with the idea of doing this pod cast. Now I am on week 4 COMMITED TO THE CAUSE!

When depressed you can also sleep too much there does not seem to me anyway to be an in between.

The danger is that insomnia can lead to psychotic episodes and this terrifies me. (as spoken about earlier re: ‘Real and Unreal’)

Personally I prefer mania… I am chatty a bit scatty but outgoing, daring. I achieve goals. It can lead to impulsive decision making too. It does have anxiety attached to it …and elements of psychosis and or delusional thoughts.

I have in the past found my self looking for patterns on Google Earth and then thinking I have been poisoned or cheated on.

My body can get tired but I try focussing on a task such as crocheting, reading a book or watching a documentary (not conspiracy though). I tried colouring but I can absolutely say it is not for me but try something that suits you… it works.

When I was younger manic episodes lasted longer than they do now (excessive spending, late nights out with people I should perhaps not be out with…impulsive choices) and it is followed by 36 hours of sleep. I can’t wash, cook, standing up is hard. I have usually made at least 1 rash decision in manic mayhem and feel ashamed of that as well as guilty. What I have learned is feelings are temporary and nothing lasts forever I just have to ride it out…when you have been at rock bottom the only way is up!

I sometimes take medication to keep a sleep pattern but not always as it can be addictive. So being careful with the us is really important,

So this week has been productive your listening to or reading about your local community radio presenter for Stockport’s Your FM 107.8.

So I started my training with them this week…it was a struggle but I made it there…I was extremely tired after though but the fact that I did it is like massive to me.

I’m so excited to be part of their team it’s a big deal for me.


26 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page